kindlepana.blogg.se

External apple dvd player
External apple dvd player












external apple dvd player external apple dvd player

My bad!īTW, my first three points almost certainly apply to Windows' PCs although I don't have one to verify that. I couldn't get the blasted thing to work or be recognised because I was always inserting CDs.

external apple dvd player

I have the latter in front of me just now to remind me how simple mistakes are made. Are you sure it is both a CD and DVD Reader/Writer and not just a DVD Reader/Writer. Here, I am being a little cheeky but it happened to me, so it can happen to anyone. Therefore, I suggest that you make sure that Finder > Preferences are set up to allow one or both means of seeing the Drive AND that you insert a Disc.Ĥ. It will then be visible on the Desktop (if Finder Preferences are set up to do so) and in Finder (again if you have preferences allowing it to be seen in Finder's Sidebar.)ģ. A CD/DVD Reader/Writer will not usually be "seen" by the Mac until a Disc is inserted - blank or playable.Ģ. It may be faulty, but may I raise a few points which have nothing to do with that?ġ. I decided to invest(not much)in an external dvd drive but the iMac does not "see"it when plugged into a usb port.The drive light comes on and there is some wirring of the disc inside but then nothing.There is no icon on my home screen or any indication of the presence of an external drive anywhere.I Googled the problem and someone suggested I alter one of the files called "".Coud not edit it as I was informed by the Mac that I did not own it but could edit and save a duplicate which is what I did.Īt that point I thought I would stop and seek more expert advice from the forum to see if I am on the right track.The external drive is advertised as mac compatible.I am as far from a Mac expert as you can get so if there is an idiots guide to getting it working that would be great. I have an ageing iMac from 2010 running High Sierra.I do not use the internal dvd/cd drive very often but when I do it is very slow and when inserting a disc it grinds away and sounds as if it chewing up the disc before finally bringing up the disc menu.














External apple dvd player